Antioch United Methodist Church
- Source: David Seibert
- Marker: Antioch United Methodist Church
- Location: Gus Barnett Rd near the intersection with Antioch Church Rd.
ANTIOCH UNITED METHODIST CHURCH
Antioch Church was founded in Jackson County, Georgia in 1799, on land given by the James Glenn family. The original building, along with an 1825 addition, stands to the rear of the present sanctuary forming the “T” and was bricked over in 1954 with the construction of the new building. The fellowship hall was added in 1985. The church bicentennial was held Sunday, September 12, 1999, during annual homecoming service. Antioch has been designated Historic Site number 369 by the North Georgia Annual Conference and General Commission on Archives and History of the United Methodist Church.
Many Godly pastors have served Antioch, supported by a faithful membership. As a student appointment for many years, the church nurtured young ministers, giving them the start that led to a major impact for the Kingdom of God. Many have made significant contributions to the larger church as college professors, authors, missionaries, and District Superintendents
On this hillside, the church stands as a spiritual beacon of the light of God’s love and a hallowed place on holy ground.
ANTIOCH UNITED METHODIST CHURCH BICENTENNIAL COMMITTEE 1999 NICHOLSON, GEORGIA RICHARD J. CATHY, PASTOR BEULAH T. SMITH, CHAIRPERSON