Choose another Topic

Clarke County Historical Markers

The Red and Black


  • Source: David Seibert
  • Marker: The Red and Black
  • Location: Herty Dr. behind the Academic Building, University of Georgia, Athens

THE RED AND BLACK

Students published the first issue of the University of Georgia's 

campus newspaper, <em>The Red and Black</em>, on Nov. 24, 1893, from offices 

in the Academic Building. The tabloid boosted school spirit, promoted 

athletic programs and reported on cultural activities for the Univer- 

sity's 212 students. The weekly paper was the official organ of the 

Athletic Council from 1895 to 1928, when it became a laboratory for 

the School of Journalism in the Commerce-Journalism Building. It was 

a semiweekly when it moved with the school to the Journalism Building 

in 1968 and changed to a broadsheet format. In 1980, The Red and 

Black became independent of the University, supported by advertising, 

directed by volunteer professionals and produced by students off- 

campus. In 1991, publication was expanded from four to five days a 

week. The Red and Black has provided University students with valuable 

training and experience. Distinguished alumni include John E. Drewry, 

the first dean of the School of Journalism; many acclaimed publishers, 

editors and writers; leaders in broadcasting, public relations and adver- 

tising; and recipients of Pulitzer Prizes, Peabody and Academy Awards. 



029 - 18 GEORGIA HISTORIC MARKER 1994