Choose another Topic

Return to Government Introduction

Georgia Constitutions Introduction

For more on Georgia’s Constitutions, see the New Georgia Encyclopedia.

Georgia has had twelve ruling documents, from the colonial charter issued in 1732, to the current state constitution, adopted in 1983. The Council of Safety, Georgia’s Patriot rulers during the American Revolution, adopted a set of Rules and Regulations in 1776. Then came Georgia’s first constitution in 1777, followed by updated versions in 1789 and 1798. A new constitution was adopted at the beginning of the Civil War in 1861, and at the end of the war in 1865. Another new constitution was adopted soon after the beginning of Reconstruction in 1868, and at its end in 1877. There have been three constitutions in the modern era - in 1945, 1976, and the current constitution of 1983. This page presents the full text of each of these documents, plus a link to the most recently amended version of the current constitution.

View large image