Choose another Topic

Return to Geography Introduction

Physiographic Districts

This map shows the physiographic districts of the state of Georgia; the related articles provide a textual descriptions of each district.

LM = Lookout Mountain District CV = Chickamauga Valley District AR = Armuchee Ridges District GV = Great Valley District
CM = Cohutta Mountains District MB = McCaysville Basin District ChU = Cherokee Upland District BRM = Blue Ridge Mountains District
DU = Dahlonega Upland District HJR = Hightower-Jasper Ridges District CeU = Central Uplands District GR = Gainesville Ridges District
WiS = Winder Slope District GS = Greenville Slope District WaS = Washington Slope District PM = Pine Mountain District
FLH = Fall Line Hills District FVP = Fort Valley Plateau District VU = Vidalia Upland District TU = Tifton Upland District
DP = Dougherty Plain District BT = Bacon Terraces District OB = Okefenokee Basin District BIS - Barrier Island Sequence District
Map of Physiographic Districts of Georgia View large image

Source: William Z. Clark, Jr. and Arnold C. Zisa, Physiographic Map of Georgia (Atlanta: Georgia Department of Natural Resources, 1976