Choose another Topic

Walton County

County Courthouse View large image

Source: David Seibert

Date Built1883-84
Architecture StyleSecond Empire
DesignerBruce and Morgan
Seat InformationMonroe [date of initial settlement unknown, but named, incorporated, and designated county seat by the legislature on Nov. 30, 1821]. Named for James Monroe, who was then holding office as the nation's fifth president.
Courthouse DetailsShortly after Walton County was created in Dec. 1818, court was held in a cow barn. Other buildings served as seat of government until the county's first courthouse was completed in 1823. That building served until 1845, when another courthouse was built. Walton County's third -- and current -- courthouse was completed in 1884. The clock tower was added in 1910, and the building underwent major restorations in 1933 and 1996. The 1996 renovation left the building's exterior in pristine condition. Additionally, the large courtroom on the second floor was restored, and the purpose of the courthouse was changed from a general-purpose county government building to a facility for holding superior court trials. As a result, county judicial and administrative officials and departments are housed in a number of courthouse annexes situated immediately across the streets to the north, west, and south of the courthouse square, while the Walton County commission has its own building at the rear of the courthouse.
County Data
Population 200060,687
Population Growth38.0
County SeatMonroe
County Area330.1 Square Miles
Location MapWalton County Location Map

Walton County was created from Jackson County on Dec. 15, 1818 by an act of the General Assembly (Ga. Laws 1818, p. 27). Georgia’s 43rd county was named for George Walton, signer of the Declaration of Independence, member of Congress, and early Georgia governor.

Web SiteVisit Web Site
Legal OrganThe Walton Tribune
Chamber of Commerce Web SiteVisit Web Site
Historical Population
2010 83,768
2000 60,687
1990 38,586
1980 31,211
1970 23,404
1960 20,481
1950 20,230
1940 20,777
1930 21,118
1920 24,216
1910 25,393
1900 20,942
1890 17,467
1880 15,622
1870 11,038
1860 11,074
1850 10,821
1840 10,209
1830 10,929
1820 4,192