Choose another Topic

Terrell County

County Courthouse View large image

Source: David Seibert

Date Built1892
Architecture StyleHigh Victorian
DesignerW.H. Parkins
Seat InformationDawson. The 1856 act creating Terrell County empowered the justices of the county's inferior court to select a site to serve as county seat. The justices chose a settlement in the center of the new county and named it Dawson in honor of William Terrell's friend, U.S. Senator William Dawson, who died in 1856. At the 1857 session, the legislature passed an act incorporating Dawson.
Courthouse DetailsTerrell County's first courthouse was built in Dawson in 1857. The fate of that structure is not known, but its successor--the present courthouse--was built in 1892. The courthouse was renovated in 1936.
County Data
Population 200010,970
Population Growth-15.1
County SeatDawson
County Area337.6 Square Miles
Location MapTerrell County Location Map

Terrell County was created from Lee and Randolph counties on Feb. 16, 1856 by an act of the General Assembly (Ga. Laws 1855-56, p. 117). Georgia’s 114th county, formed from portions of Lee and Randolph counties, was named for noted planter, promoter of scientific agriculture at the University of Georgia, and former Congressman and state legislator William Terrell of Sparta. Terrell died in July 1855, and a new county was named in his honor eight months later.

Web SiteVisit Web Site
Legal OrganThe Dawson News
Chamber of Commerce Web SiteVisit Web Site
Historical Population
2010 9,315
2000 10,970
1990 10,653
1980 12,017
1970 11,416
1960 12,742
1950 14,314
1940 16,675
1930 18,290
1920 19,601
1910 22,003
1900 19,023
1890 14,503
1880 10,451
1870 9,053
1860 6,232