Choose another Topic

Taylor County

County Courthouse View large image

Source: David Seibert

Date Built1935
Architecture StyleNeoclassical Revival with Colonial Revival clock tower
DesignerF. Roy Duncan
Seat InformationThe legislation creating Taylor County authorized the justices of the county's new inferior court to select the location of the county seat, purchase land, lay it off into town lots, sell the lots, and contract for construction of public buildings. Until such actions were taken, the act provided that elections and other county business take place at the Fifty Mile Station on the Muscogee Railroad. In 1852 or 1853, the inferior court designated the county seat as a site on the railroad one-half mile from Fifty Mile Station. The new county seat was named Butler in honor of Gen. William O. Butler (1791-1880), who gained fame as a hero of the Mexican War. The General Assembly incorporated Butler as a town on Feb. 8, 1854 (Ga. Laws 1853-54, p. 232).
Courthouse DetailsThe act creating Taylor County provided that until a courthouse could be built, the Fifty Mile Station on the Muscogee Railroad would serve as temporary courthouse. Sometime thereafter, a new courthouse was built in Butler. This building was torn down in 1935 and replaced by the current courthouse.
County Data
Population 20008815
Population Growth1.0
County SeatButler
County Area379.6 Square Miles
Location MapTaylor County Location Map

Taylor County was created on Jan. 15, 1852 by an act of the General Assembly (Ga. Laws 1851-52, p. 61). Created from Macon, Marion, and Talbot counties, Taylor County’s original boundaries were specified as:

  Beginning at Walker’s Ferry on Flint river in Talbot county, running thence along Walker’s Ferry Road to Prattsburg; thence due south until it strikes the twelve mile station on lot number two hundred and fourteen, in the fifteenth district of Talbot county; thence along the Fort Perry road to Patsiliga Creek; thence up said creek to the district line between the fifteenth and sixteenth districts; thence on said line until it strikes Cedar Creek in Marion county; thence down said creek until it strikes Turner’s Bridge, Macon county; thence along the road leading to the burnt bridge on Whitewater Creek, Macon county; thence on a straight line running north east until it strikes Horse Creek on the south-west corner of lot of land number one hundred and sixty-two in the thirteenth district, Macon county; thence to the north-west corner of lot number one hundred and ninety-four in said district; thence on a direct line due east until it strikes Flint river between lots [numbers] two hundred and forty six and two hundred and forty-seven in the first district of Macon county; thence up said river to the mouth of Patsiliga Creek; thence along the old Talbot line to Walker’s Ferry, the starting point.

Georgia’s 99th county was named for Pres. Zachary Taylor (1784-1850), who died in July 1850 in the second year of his term as chief executive.

Web SiteVisit Web Site
Legal OrganTaylor County News
Chamber of Commerce Web SiteVisit Web Site
Historical Population
2010 8,906
2000 8,815
1990 7,642
1980 7,902
1970 7,865
1960 8,311
1950 9,113
1940 10,768
1930 10,617
1920 11,473
1910 10,839
1900 9,846
1890 8,666
1880 8,597
1870 7,143
1860 5,998