Choose another Topic

Monroe County

County Courthouse View large image

Source: David Seibert

Date Built1896
Architecture StyleHigh Victorian Eclectic
DesignerBruce & Morgan
Seat InformationThe Dec. 24, 1821 act organizing Monroe County authorized the justices of the inferior court to select the location of the county seat (Ga. Laws 1821, p. 44). An act of Dec. 23, 1822 designated the inferior court as a commission to select a county seat, "which shall be as near the centre of the county as convenience will admit" (Ga. Laws 1822, p. 23). Initially, the legislation directed that Monroe County courts and elections be held at the house of Henry H. Lumkin. Subsequently, those inferior court chose lot 171 in the sixth district of Monroe County. Here, they purchased 202.5 acres from John Booth on Feb. 18, 1823, and directed that a town be laid out. The new county seat was named Forsyth, in honor of Georgia politician and diplomat John Forsyth (1780-1840) In an act of Dec. 10, 1823, the legislature confirmed this action by designating Forsyth permanent county seat and incorporating it as a town (Ga. Laws 1823, p. 198).
Courthouse DetailsMonroe County's first courthouse, built in Forsyth in 1825, served the county until torn down in 1895 or 1896. The present two-story, brick courthouse was completed in 1896. The clock tower was restored in 1990.
County Data
Population 200021,757
Population Growth21.5
County SeatForsyth
County Area397.8 Square Miles
Location MapMonroe County Location Map

Monroe County was created on May 15, 1821 by an act of the General Assembly (Ga. Laws 1821 Extra. Session, p. 3). [Click here to read the legal description of Monroe County’s original boundaries.] Dooly, Houston, Monroe, Fayette, and Henry County were created in that order by the Georgia Land Lottery Act of 1821, which was enacted at a special session of the General Assembly four months after the Creek Indians ceded lands between the Ocmulgee and Flint rivers on Jan. 8, 1821 in the first Treaty of Indian Springs. Monroe County was organized by an act of the legislature approved Dec. 24, 1821 (Ga. Laws 1821, p. 44).

Georgia’s 50th county was named for James Monroe, who was President of the United States when the county was created.

Portions of Monroe County were used to create the following counties: Bibb and Pike (1822), Butt (1825), and Lamar (1920).

Web SiteVisit Web Site
Legal OrganMonroe County Reporter
Chamber of Commerce Web SiteVisit Web Site
Historical Population
2010 26,424
2000 21,757
1990 17,113
1980 14,610
1970 10,991
1960 10,495
1950 10,523
1940 10,749
1930 11,606
1920 20,138
1910 20,450
1900 20,682
1890 19,137
1880 18,808
1870 17,213
1860 15,953
1850 16,985
1840 16,275
1830 16,202