Choose another Topic

Jones County

County Courthouse View large image

Source: David Seibert

Date Built1905
Architecture StyleRomanesque Revival
DesignerJ.W. Golucke & Co.
Seat InformationClinton [originally named Albany but renamed for N.Y. Gov. Dewitt Clinton] was designated county seat in 1808 and incorporated in1816. Around 1890, when the Central of Georgia RR decided to build a north-south route through Jones County, citizens of Clinton reportedly protested having the railroad built through their town, so a route was selected to bypass Clinton. A railroad station was built two miles northeast of Clinton and quickly grew into a community known as Gray [named for James M. Gray, a prominent local citizen in the mid-19th century]. Clinton's importance declined, and county residents successfully petitioned the legislature to designate Gray as county seat in 1905. Gray was incorporated on Aug. 23, 1911.
Courthouse DetailsThe first courthouse, in Albany (later renamed Clinton), was the private residence of William Jones. A temporary structure housed the court until 1816, when a third, more permanent, building was erected. When the county seat moved to Gray the current courthouse was built in 1905. It is noted for its arched clock tower, which was restored in 2005-06. The courthouse was rehabilitated in 1992.
County Data
Population 200023,639
Population Growth21.3
County SeatGray
County Area395.4 Square Miles
Location MapJones County Location Map

Jones County was created from Baldwin County on Dec. 10, 1807 by an act of the General Assembly (Ga. Laws 1807, p. 3). Georgia’s 32nd county was named for U.S. Representative James Jones (? - 1801). Jones served in the U.S. House from 1799 until his death two years later. In 1822, part of Jones County was used to help create Bibb County.

Web SiteVisit Web Site
Legal OrganThe Jones County News
Chamber of Commerce Web SiteVisit Web Site
Historical Population
2010 28,669
2000 23,639
1990 20,739
1980 16,579
1970 12,270
1960 8,468
1950 7,538
1940 8,331
1930 8,992
1920 13,269
1910 13,103
1900 13,358
1890 12,709
1880 11,613
1870 9,436
1860 9,107
1850 10,224
1840 10,065
1830 13,345
1820 16,570
1810 8,597