Choose another Topic

Houston County

County Courthouse View large image

Source: David Seibert

Date Built2000-2002
Architecture Style
DesignerHDR Architecture; JMA Architecture; and Hayes, Michael + Associates Architecture
Seat InformationThe Dec. 24, 1821 act organizing Houston County authorized the justices of the inferior court to select the location of the county seat. In 1823, Houston County's inferior court designated land lot 49 in the tenth district as the site of the county seat. On Dec. 21, 1823, the legislature designated this site as permanent county seat and named it Perry (Ga. Laws 1823, p. 172). The name honored U.S. Navy Capt. Oliver H. Perry, who defeated the British in the Battle of Lake Erie. On Dec. 9, 1824, the legislature incorporated Perry as a town (Ga. Laws 1824, p. 148).
Courthouse DetailsAn act of Dec. 24, 1821 organizing Houston (pronounced "HOUSE - ton") County authorized the five justices of the county's inferior court to select a county seat and provide for erection of a courthouse and jail (Ga. Laws 1821, p. 44). Until a courthouse could be build, court sessions were to be held at such places as designated by the inferior court. It is not clear what served as Houston County courthouse for the next three decades. In Mar. 1856, the legislature authorized Houston County to levy a special tax in 1856 and 1857 to finance construction of a new courthouse and jail (Ga. Laws 1855-56, p. 547). This new courthouse may be the one seen in a photograph taken at some time prior to 190 . This structure was replaced by a new courthouse in 1948. Because of the need for a larger and more modern facility, Houston County voters approved a special-purpose local option sales tax to fund construction of a new courthouse in Perry. Construction of the new courthouse began in 2000, with the new courthouse dedicated in November 2002.
County Data
Population 2000110,765
Population Growth26.3
County SeatPerry
County Area379.9 Square Miles
Location MapHouston County Location Map

Houston County was created on May 15, 1821 by an act of the General Assembly (Ga. Laws 1821 Extra. Session, p. 3). [Click here to read the legal description of Houston County’s original boundaries.] Dooly, Houston, Monroe, Fayette, and Henry County were created in that order by the Georgia Land Lottery Act of 1821 , which was enacted at a special session of the General Assembly four months after the Creek Indians ceded lands between the Ocmulgee and Flint rivers on Jan. 8, 1821 in the first Treaty of Indian Springs. Houston County was organized by an act of the legislature approved Dec. 24, 1821 (Ga. Laws 1821, p. 44). Later, portions of Houston County were used to create the following counties: DeKalb, Bibb, Pike, and Crawford (1822); Macon (1837); and Peach (1924).

Georgia’s 49th county was named for Gov. John Houstoun (1744-1796).

Web SiteVisit Web Site
Legal OrganThe Houston Home Journal
Chamber of Commerce Web SiteVisit Web Site
Historical Population
2010 139,900
2000 110,765
1990 89,208
1980 77,605
1970 62,924
1960 39,154
1950 20,964
1940 11,303
1930 11,280
1920 21,964
1910 23,609
1900 22,641
1890 21,613
1880 22,414
1870 20,406
1860 15,611
1850 16,450
1840 9,711
1830 7,369