Choose another Topic

Dawson County

Date Built1978
Architecture StyleModern
DesignerBailey Allegret
Seat InformationThe act creating Dawson County empowered the judges of the inferior court to select a site for location of the county seat. They selected a site and named it Dawsonville in honor of William C. Dawson.
Courthouse DetailsDawson County's first courthouse was a two-story brick building located in the town square of Dawsonville. That building served as courthouse until 1978, when a modern two-story courthouse was built a block north of the old courthouse.
County Data
Population 200015,999
Population Growth39.6
County SeatDawsonville
County Area Square Miles
Location MapDawson County Location Map

Dawson County was created on Dec. 3, 1857 from Gilmer and Lumpkin counties by an act of the General Assembly (Ga. Laws 1857, p. 32). Georgia’s 119th county was named in honor of noted lawyer, state legislator, soldier, U.S. Representative, and U.S. Senator William C. Dawson, who had died the previous year.

Web SiteVisit Web Site
Legal OrganDawson Advertiser
Chamber of Commerce Web SiteVisit Web Site
Historical Population
2010 22,330
2000 15,999
1990 9,429
1980 4,774
1970 3,639
1960 3,590
1950 3,712
1940 4,479
1930 3,502
1920 4,204
1910 4,686
1900 5,442
1890 5,612
1880 5,837
1870 4,369
1860 3,856