Choose another Topic

Crawford County

County Courthouse View large image

Source: David Seibert

Date Built2001-02
Architecture Style
Seat InformationIn an act of Dec. 23, 1822, the legislature authorized Crawford County's inferior court to select a site for the county seat, with a provision that such site "be as near the centre of the county as convenience will admit" (Ga. Laws 1822, p. 23). In an act of Dec. 10, 1823, the legislature designated Knoxville as county seat (Ga. Laws 1823, p. 170). Knoxville was named for Revolutionary War Gen. Henry Knox (1750-1806), who in 1789 became the first U.S. Secretary of War. The legislature incorporated Knoxville in an act of Dec. 24, 1825 (Ga. Laws 1825, p. 183). Around 1890, a new railroad was built through the middle of Crawford County following a north-south route. For whatever reason, the railroad's path came near - but skipped - the county seat. A train station was built one mile southwest of Knoxville, which became known as Roberta. In the years that followed, most Knoxville residents moved to Roberta. Eventually, Knoxville ceased functioning as a town, although its charter was never repealed. By the 1990s, Knoxville was one of over 100 Georgia towns that provided few if any services to their citizens but legally retained the status of an incorporated municipality. In an effort to deal with this problem, the General Assembly enacted legislation in 1993 mandating that any incorporated city in Georgia must provide its citizens with at least three municipal services or lose its charter (O.C.G.A. sec. 36-30-7.1). Though given a grace period to comply, over 100 small or inactive towns - including Knoxville - lost their municipal charters on July 1, 1995. At that point, they became unincorporated communities under the jurisdiction of their county governments. Today, Crawford, Columbia, and Echols are the only Georgia counties with an unincorporated community serving as county seat.
Courthouse DetailsIn an act of Dec. 23, 1822, the legislature authorized Crawford County's initial inferior court to select a site to serve as county seat and provide for construction of a courthouse (Ga. Laws 1822, p. 23). The same act provided that until a courthouse could be built, Crawford County courts and elections would be held at the house of Imlay Vansciver. In Dec. 1823, the legislature designated Knoxville as county seat. At some point thereafter, Crawford County's first courthouse was built. That structure burned in 1829 or 1830. The following year, construction of a new courthouse began. The new building was completed in Jan. 1832. Since then, there have been numerous repairs and remodeling, with extensive interior renovations and construction of a small addition in the late 1960s. In 2001-02, a new courthouse was built one block behind the old courthouse. The historic structure may became the home of the Crawford County Historical Society).
County Data
Population 200012,495
Population Growth1.0
County SeatKnoxville
County Area326.5 Square Miles
Location MapCrawford County Location Map

Crawford County was one of four counties created on Dec. 9, 1822, by an act of the General Assembly (Ga. Laws 1822, p. 21). Crawford County was created entirely from Houston County. In 1824, portions of the Crawford County were used to create Upson County. In 1826, the portion of the Old Creek Agency Reserve on the east side of the Flint River was added to Crawford County (Ga. Laws 1826, p. 60). Georgia’s 57th county was named for William H. Crawford (1772-1834), former U.S. Senator and U.S. Secretary of the Treasury, as well as Georgia’s first candidate for U.S. President (1824).

Web SiteVisit Web Site
Legal OrganThe Georgia Post
Chamber of Commerce Web SiteVisit Web Site
Historical Population
2010 12,630
2000 12,495
1990 8,991
1980 7,684
1970 5,748
1960 5,816
1950 6,080
1940 7,128
1930 7,020
1920 8,893
1910 8,310
1900 10,368
1890 9,315
1880 8,656
1870 7,557
1860 7,693
1850 8,984
1840 7,981
1830 5,313