Choose another Topic

Coweta County

County Courthouse View large image

Source: David Seibert

Date Built1904
Architecture StyleNeoclassical Revival
DesignerJ.W. Golucke
Seat InformationThe Dec. 11, 1826 act naming and organizing Coweta County provided that the first election of county officials take place on the first Monday in May 1827 at the house of James Caldwell (Ga. Laws 1826, p. 57). After that election, the justices of the county's inferior court were authorized to select a site for the county seat and provide for erection of a courthouse and other public buildings. However, until a county seat was designated, Coweta County superior and and inferior courts were to meet at the house of James Caldwell. On Dec. 20, 1828, the legislature designated Newnan county seat and incorporated it as a town (Ga. Laws 1828, p. 149). [On Dec. 26, 1823, the General Assembly had designated another town by the name of Newnan as county seat of Pike County. However, in 1825, the legislature moved Pike's county seat to Zebulon, after which Newnan vanished as a town.] Newnan was named for Gen. Daniel Newnan (1780-1851), who was Georgia's Secretary of State at the time Coweta County was created.
Courthouse DetailsJames Caldwell's house served as the initial courthouse of Coweta County. In 1828, Newnan was designated county seat, and a log courthouse was built here that year. This was replaced by a two-story brick courthouse in 1829 . This building was torn down and replaced by the present courthouse in 1904 . The structure was refurbished in 1975, retaining principal design features. The courthouse's interior and exterior were rehabilitated in 1989-90.
County Data
Population 200089,215
Population Growth42.7
County SeatNewnan
County Area446.0 Square Miles
Location MapCoweta County Location Map

On Feb. 12, 1825, a group of Creek Indians led by William McIntosh signed the Treaty of Indian Springs, in which they ceded all of their remaining lands in present-day Georgia. Subsequently, in an act of June 9, 1825, the General Assembly provided that the land ceded by the treaty be divided into five sections, surveyed into districts and land lots, and distributed by land lottery (Ga. Laws 1825 Extra. Session., p. 3). On Dec. 14, 1826, the legislature redesignated the five land sections as the counties of Lee, Muscogee, Troup, Coweta, and Carroll and provided for their organization (Ga. Laws 1826, p. 57). Additionally, the act provided that part of southern DeKalb County was transferred to Coweta County.

Despite the fact that the five counties were not named until Dec. 14, 1826, the date their respective boundaries were established - June 9, 1825 - is generally accepted as the date of their creation. Because the five counties were provided for in the same act, their order of creation is based on the order they were mentioned in the act - Lee, Muscogee, Troup, Coweta, and Carroll. Thus, Lee was Georgia’s 61st county, while Coweta was the 64th county.

Coweta County was named for the Coweta Indians, a group of Creek Indians that lived in and around Coweta, one of the largest and most important towns of the Lower Creek Indians. The Lower Creeks had two capital towns. Located near the western banks of the Chattahoochee River across from present-day Fort Benning (in what today in Russell County, Alabama), Coweta was the “red” capital - which meant that all discussions of war or conflict took place here. Across the river in Georgia was Cusseta, the “white” capital reserved for non-hostile matters, such as peaceful negotiations with whites.

Portions of Coweta County were used to create Campbell County (1828) and Heard County (1830).

Web SiteVisit Web Site
Legal OrganThe Newnan Times-Herald
Chamber of Commerce Web SiteVisit Web Site
Historical Population
2010 127,317
2000 89,215
1990 53,853
1980 39,268
1970 32,310
1960 28,893
1950 27,786
1940 26,972
1930 25,127
1920 29,047
1910 28,800
1900 24,980
1890 22,354
1880 21,109
1870 15,875
1860 14,703
1850 13,635
1840 5,003