Choose another Topic

Cobb County

County Courthouse View large image

Source: David Seibert

Date Built1965-66
Architecture StyleModern
Seat InformationThe Dec. 3, 1832 act creating Cobb County provided for election of county officers in March 1833, with the newly elected judges of the inferior court authorized to select the site of the county seat and provide for erection of a courthouse and other public buildings. The judges subsequently selected Marietta as county seat On Dec. 19, 1834, the legislature passed an act incorporating Marietta and designating it as county seat. The town is generally believed to have been named for Mary Cobb, wife of Thomas W. Cobb, though it is possible that it was named for Marietta, Ohio. The name "Marietta" is said to have originated from Marie Antoinette of France.
Courthouse DetailsCobb County's first courthouse - a one-room log structure - was built in 1834 in Marietta. In 1838, county officials had a new two-story wooden courthouse built in the city square. On Jan. 22, 1852, the legislature authorized the judges of the Cobb County's inferior court to have a new courthouse built. Apparently, the previous courthouse was no longer usable, for the 1852 act directed the inferior court to find a suitable place in Marietta for the superior and inferior courts to meet until a new courthouse could be built. The new courthouse lasted until burned during Sherman's Atlanta Campaign. On Dec. 9, 1871, the legislature authorized Cobb County's ordinary [probate judge] to issue bonds for construction of a new county courthouse. That structure - a two-story brick building with clock tower - was completed in 1873. This served as Cobb County courthouse until 1966, when a new three-square block complex of county government buildings opened, including the courtrooms and offices for superior, probate, and magistrate courts, the offices and courtrooms for state court, and the office building for county commissioners and county agencies.
County Data
Population 2000607,751
Population Growth13.2
County SeatMarietta
County Area344.5 Square Miles
Location MapCobb County Location Map

Cobb County was created from Cherokee County on Dec. 3, 1832 by an act of the General Assembly (Ga. Laws 1832, p. 56). According to that act:

  . . . the first, sixteenth, seventeenth, eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth districts of the second section, and so much of the first, second and third districts, as lies east of a line to be run, commencing at the centre of the north line of the third district in said third section and running due south to the south line of the first district in said section, shall form and become one county, to be called Cobb.

In way of background, by 1830, the Cherokee Nation consisted of most of northwest Georgia, plus adjoining areas in Alabama, Tennessee, and North Carolina. Even while Cherokee Indians remained on their homeland in Georgia, the General Assembly on Dec. 21, 1830 enacted legislation claiming “all the Territory within the limits of Georgia, and now in the occupancy of the Cherokee tribe of Indians; and all other unlocated lands within the limits of this State, claimed as Creek land” (Ga. Laws 1830, p. 127). The act also provided for surveying the Cherokee lands in Georgia; dividing them into sections, districts, and land lots; and authorizing a lottery to distribute the land. On Dec. 26, 1831, the legislature designated all land in Georgia that lay west of the Chattahoochee River and north of Carroll county as “Cherokee County” and provided for its organization (Ga. Laws 1831, p. 74). However, the new county was not able to function as a county because of its size and the fact that Cherokee Indians still occupied portions of the land. On Dec. 3, 1832, the legislature added areas of Habersham and Hall counties to Cherokee County, and then divided the entire area into nine new counties—Cass (later renamed Bartow), Cobb, Floyd, Forsyth, Gilmer, Lumpkin, Murray, Paulding, and Union—plus a reconstituted and much smaller Cherokee County.

Georgia’s 84th county was named for former U.S. Representative, U.S. Senator, and Georgia superior court judge Thomas W. Cobb.

In 1857, part of Cobb County was used to create Milton County.

Web SiteVisit Web Site
Legal OrganThe Marietta Daily Jounral
Chamber of Commerce Web SiteVisit Web Site
Historical Population
2010 688,078
2000 607,751
1990 447,745
1980 297,718
1970 196,793
1960 114,174
1950 61,830
1940 38,272
1930 35,408
1920 30,437
1910 28,397
1900 24,664
1890 22,286
1880 20,748
1870 13,814
1860 14,242
1850 13,843
1840 7,539