Choose another Topic

Chattooga County

County Courthouse View large image

Source: David Seibert

Date Built1909
Architecture StyleNeoclassical Revival
DesignerBryan Architectural Firm
Seat InformationThe law creating Chattooga County authorized the justices of the county's new inferior court to select the site of the county seat, purchase the necessary land, have the land divided into town lots, sell those lots, and use the proceeds to build a courthouse and jail. Until this was done, the legislation directed that county business take place at the house of John Henry (Ga. Laws 1838, p. 77). Subsequently, the inferior court may have designated Summerville as county seat. In any event, the General Assembly on Dec. 21, 1839 incorporated Summerville and made it the permanent county seat (Ga. Laws 1839, p. 210).
Courthouse DetailsChattooga County's first courthouse was a two-story structure built in 1840. The building continued in use until the present courthouse was built in 1909.
County Data
Population 200025,470
Population Growth2.1
County SeatSummerville
County Area314.0 Square Miles
Location MapChattooga County Location Map

Chattooga County was created on Dec. 28, 1838 by an act of the General Assembly (Ga. Laws 1838, p. 77). Created from Walker and Floyd counties, Chattooga County’s original boundaries were defined by law as:

  . . . beginning on the Alabama line, at the corner of the 12th and 13th districts of the fourth section, and running thence east on said district line to the north east corner of the twenty-fifth district and third section, thence south on the district line to the south east corner of the same district, thence west of the district line to the north west corner of lot number five, in the 24th district of the third section, thence on a direct line to be run by the Surveyor for the county of Floyd, by the way of the south west corner of the fifth district and fourth section.

Georgia’s 93rd county was named for the Chattooga River that flows through the county. [Georgia has two different Chattooga rivers, with the second forming the eastern border of Rabun County in extreme northeastern Georgia.] “Chattooga” is a Cherokee word of debated origin and definition.

Between 1840 and 1856, the General Assembly transferred land between Chattooga and Floyd counties on ten occasions.

Web SiteVisit Web Site
Legal OrganThe Summerville News
Chamber of Commerce Web SiteVisit Web Site
Historical Population
2010 26,015
2000 25,470
1990 22,242
1980 21,856
1970 20,541
1960 19,954
1950 21,197
1940 18,532
1930 15,407
1920 14,312
1910 13,608
1900 12,952
1890 11,202
1880 10,021
1870 6,902
1860 7,165
1850 6,815
1840 3,438