Choose another Topic

City of Savannah

IncorporatedFebruary 12, 1733
Address2 East Bay St.
Savannah, Georgia 31401
Phone(912) 651-6415
Fax(912) 238-0872

Savannah is the county seat for Chatham County.

Savannah was established on February 12, 1733 when General James Oglethorpe founded Georgia. The city was named for the Savannah River, a local waterway. Oglethorpe carefully planned the city’s streets by using a grid pattern with 24 park-like squares. Savannah has the distinction of being the first city in the state of Georgia.

There are numerous attractions in Savannah to increase cultural awareness and make Savannah the “Hostess City of the South”. Savannah is home to a National Historic Landmark District of 2.5 square miles, and more than 1,100 architecturally significant buildings. The Victorian District is one of the nation’s largest collections of that period’s architecture.