Choose another Topic

City of Crawfordville

Address110 Broad Street
Crawfordville, Georgia 30631
Phone(706) 456-2605
Fax(706) 456-2508

Crawfordville, the county seat of Taliaferro County, is named for William H. Crawford, U.S. Senator, U.S. minister to France, Secretary of War, and Secretary of the Treasury.

The A. H. Stephens State Historic Park is located in Crawfordville. This park is named after the vice president of the Confederacy, Alexander H. Stephens. There is a renovated antebellum home and confederate museum located in the park.

Crawfordville participates in the Better Hometown Program run by the Georgia Department of Community Affairs. This community development program is a public-private partnership intended to revitalize small communities with populations between 1,000 and 5,000. These cities have access to technical assistance and fiscal resources designed to stimulate downtown revitalization.

According to 2000 Census, the City of Crawfordville had a population of 572 persons. Between 1990 and 2000, the city experienced a population decrease of -0.9%, compared to the state growth during this period of 26.4%.