Jan January
Feb February
Mar March
Apr April
May May
Jun June
Jul July
Aug August
Sep September
Oct October
Nov November
Dec December

This Day in Georgia History

December 24, 1825

Taliaferro and Butts Counties Created

Gov. George Troup signed legislation creating Taliaferro and Butts counties. Taliaferro County, Georgia’s 69th, was created from portions of Greene, Hancock, Oglethorpe, Warren, and Wilkes counties and named for Col. Benjamin Taliaferro, who served in Revolutionary War and the U.S. House of Representatives (1799-1802). Butts County, Georgia’s 70th, was created from Henry and Monroe counties and named for Capt. Samuel Butts, a member of the Georgia Militia killed while fighting Creek Indians in the War of 1812.