Jan January
Feb February
Mar March
Apr April
May May
Jun June
Jul July
Aug August
Sep September
Oct October
Nov November
Dec December

This Day in Georgia History

December 20, 1853

Fulton and Worth Counties Created

Gov. Herschel Johnson signed legislation creating Fulton and Worth counties as Georgia’s 105th and 106th counties. Fulton County, Georgia’s 105tdh, was created from portions of DeKalb County and named for inventor Robert Fulton. In 1932, Campbell and Milton counties were merged with Fulton. Worth County, Georgia’s 106th, was created from portions of Dooly and Irwin counties and named for Maj. Gen. William Worth. During the Mexican War, William Harris - who helped organized the county - had served in Worth’s command.

To view the Fulton County historical marker, see the Digital Library of Georgia.