Jan January
Feb February
Mar March
Apr April
May May
Jun June
Jul July
Aug August
Sep September
Oct October
Nov November
Dec December

This Day in Georgia History

December 19, 1793

Five Counties Created

Gov. George Mathews signed legislation creating Warren, Oglethorpe, McIntosh, Bryan, and Montgomery counties. Warren County, Georgia’s 16th, was created from portions of Columbia, Washington, and Wilkes counties and named for Massachusetts’ Gen. Joseph Warren, who was killed early in the American Revolution at the Battle of Bunker Hill. Oglethorpe County, Georgia’s 17th, was created from portions of Wilkes County and named for Georgia founder James Oglethorpe. McIntosh County, Georgia’s 18th, was created from portions of Liberty County and named for the McIntoshes who settled Darien in 1735 and their descendants. Bryan County, Georgia’s 19th, was created from portions of Chatham County and named for colonial planter and politician Jonathan Bryan. Montgomery County, created from portions of Washington County, was named for American Revolutionary War general Richard Montgomery.