Jan January
Feb February
Mar March
Apr April
May May
Jun June
Jul July
Aug August
Sep September
Oct October
Nov November
Dec December

This Day in Georgia History

December 18, 1857

Pierce and Milton Counties Created

Gov. Joseph E. Brown signed legislation creating Pierce and Milton counties. Pierce County, Georgia’s 120th, was created from portions of Appling and Ware counties and named for former president Franklin Pierce (whose term had ended in 1857). Milton County, Georgia’s 121st, was created for portions of Cherokee, Cobb, and Forsyth counties, and named for former Georgia secretary of state John Milton. By an act of July 30, 1931, Milton County became part of Fulton County effective Jan. 1, 1932.

Image of Pierce and Milton Counties Created View large image
Source: Carl Vinson Institute of Government