Jan January
Feb February
Mar March
Apr April
May May
Jun June
Jul July
Aug August
Sep September
Oct October
Nov November
Dec December

This Day in Georgia History

December 17, 1793

Hancock County Created

Gov. George Mathews signed an act creating Hancock County as Georgia’s 15th county. Created from portions of Greene and Washington counties, the new county was named after John Hancock, president of the Continental Congress and first signer of the Declaration of Independence.

Image of Hancock County Created View large image
Source: Carl Vinson Institute of Government