Jan January
Feb February
Mar March
Apr April
May May
Jun June
Jul July
Aug August
Sep September
Oct October
Nov November
Dec December

This Day in Georgia History

December 11, 1858

Three Counties Created

Gov. Joseph E. Brown signed legislation creating Banks, Johnson, and Brooks counties. Banks County, Georgia’s 129th, was created from portions of Franklin and Habersham counties and named for Dr. Richard Banks of Gainesville. Johnson County, Georgia’s 130th, was created from portions of Emanuel, Laurens, and Washington counties and named in honor of former Georgia governor Herschel Johnson. Brooks County, Georgia’s 131st, was created from portions of Lowndes and Thomas counties and named for South Carolina congressman Preston Brooks.