Jan January
Feb February
Mar March
Apr April
May May
Jun June
Jul July
Aug August
Sep September
Oct October
Nov November
Dec December

This Day in Georgia History

December 10, 1790

Columbia and Elbert Counties Created

Gov. Edward Telfair signed legislation creating Columbia and Elbert counties. Columbia County, Georgia’s 12th, was created from portions of Richmond County and named for Christopher Columbus. Elbert County, Georgia’s 13th, was created from portions of Wilkes County and named for Revolutionary War Gen. Samuel Elbert.