Jan January
Feb February
Mar March
Apr April
May May
Jun June
Jul July
Aug August
Sep September
Oct October
Nov November
Dec December

This Day in Georgia History

December 09, 1822

Four Counties Created

Gov. John Clark signed legislation creating DeKalb, Bibb, Pike, and Crawford counties. DeKalb County, Georgia’s 54th, was created from portions of Fayette and Gwinnett counties and named for Baron Johann DeKalb, who served as a major general in the Continental Army and was wounded in the Battle of Camden, South Carolina. Bibb County, Georgia’s 55th, was created from portions of Houston, Jones, Monroe, and Twiggs counties and named for Georgia-born William Wyatt Bibb, who was the first elected governor of Alabama. Pike County, Georgia’s 56th, was created from portions of Monroe County and named for Zebulon Pike - an explorer (for whom Colorado’s Pike’s Peak was named) and brigadier general in the War of 1812 killed during the successful assault on British forces at Toronto. Crawford County, Georgia’s 57th, was created from portions of Houston County and named for Georgian William H. Crawford, who was serving as U.S. Secretary of the Treasury at the time.