Jan January
Feb February
Mar March
Apr April
May May
Jun June
Jul July
Aug August
Sep September
Oct October
Nov November
Dec December

This Day in Georgia History

December 05, 1801

Tattnall and Clarke Counties Created

Gov. Josiah Tattnall approved acts creating Tattnall County and Clarke County from portions of Jackson County. Tattnall County, Georgia’s 25th, was created from portions of Montgomery County and named for Josiah Tattnall, who played a prominent role in repealing the infamous Yazoo Act. In 1796, the General Assembly elected Tattnall to fill the term of U.S. senator James Jackson. At the end of that term in 1799, Tattnall returned to private life. However, on Nov. 7, 1801, the General Assembly elected him governor and passed legislation naming a new county after him. Clarke County, Georgia’s 26th county, was named after Revolutionary War hero Elijah Clarke, who played an important role in the defeat of British forces at the Battle of Kettle Creek in 1779.

To view the Clarke County historical marker, see the Digital Library of Georgia.