Jan January
Feb February
Mar March
Apr April
May May
Jun June
Jul July
Aug August
Sep September
Oct October
Nov November
Dec December

This Day in Georgia History

December 05, 1811

Madison County Created

Gov. David B. Mitchell approved an act creating Madison County as Georgia’s 38th county. Created from portions of Clarke, Elbert, Franklin, Jackson, and Oglethorpe counties, the new county was named for James Madison, who was U.S. president at the time of its creation.

Image of Madison County Created View large image
Source: Carl Vinson Institute of Government