Jan January
Feb February
Mar March
Apr April
May May
Jun June
Jul July
Aug August
Sep September
Oct October
Nov November
Dec December

This Day in Georgia History

December 03, 1857

Dawson County Created

Gov. Joseph E. Brown signed legislation creating Dawson County. Dawson County, Georgia’s 119th, was created from areas of Gilmer and Lumpkin counties and named for William C. Dawson. A lawyer, Dawson served as clerk of the Georgia House of Representatives, codified the Georgia statutes in 1828, and and served as a state judge. Subsequently, he was elected to the Georgia Senate, U.S. House, and U.S. Senate. Also, in 1836, Dawson raised a volunteer company to fight in the Seminole War.

Image of Dawson County Created View large image
Source: Carl Vinson Institute of Government