Jan January
Feb February
Mar March
Apr April
May May
Jun June
Jul July
Aug August
Sep September
Oct October
Nov November
Dec December

This Day in Georgia History

November 17, 1998

Tom Glavine Won Cy Young

Atlanta Braves’ pitcher Tom Glavine won the 1998 National League Cy Young award. With a 20-6 record, Glavine was the National League’s only 20-game winner in the 1998 season. The win gave the Braves’ pitching staff an amazing hold on the Cy Young award during the 1990s, with Glavine winning twice (1991 and 1998), John Smoltz once (1996), and Greg Maddux a four-time winner (1992 (as a Cub), 1993, 1994, and 1995.