Jan January
Feb February
Mar March
Apr April
May May
Jun June
Jul July
Aug August
Sep September
Oct October
Nov November
Dec December

This Day in Georgia History

November 05, 1912

Bleckley and Wheeler Counties Created

Georgia voters ratified constitutional amendments creating Bleckley and Wheeler counties. Constitutional amendments were necessary because Georgia’s constitution then limited the number of counties in the state to 145. Rather than raise that limit, Georgia lawmakers chose to create additional counties through a constitutional amendment for each new county. Bleckley County, Georgia’s 147th, was created from portions of Pulaski County and named for former Georgia Supreme Court chief justice Logan Bleckley. Wheeler County, Georgia’s 148th, was created from portions of Montgomery County and named for former Confederate and U.S. Army general Joseph Wheeler.

To view the Bleckley County historical marker, see the Digital Library of Georgia.