Jan January
Feb February
Mar March
Apr April
May May
Jun June
Jul July
Aug August
Sep September
Oct October
Nov November
Dec December

This Day in Georgia History

October 26, 1870

Dodge County Created

Gov. Rufus Bullock signed legislation creating Dodge County from portions of Montgomery, Pulaski, and Telfair counties. Dodge, Georgia’s 136th county, was named for New York industrialist William E. Dodge, who owned large tracts of Georgia forest land and helped push through federal legislation removing timber taxes. Dodge was also involved in the creation and building of the Macon and Brunswick Railroad. After the creation of Dodge County, Dodge personally funded construction of a two-story county courthouse in Eastman.

Image of Dodge County Created View large image
Source: Carl Vinson Institute of Government