Jan January
Feb February
Mar March
Apr April
May May
Jun June
Jul July
Aug August
Sep September
Oct October
Nov November
Dec December

This Day in Georgia History

August 17, 1905

Four Counties Created

Gov. Joseph Terrell signed acts creating four new Georgia counties. Crisp County, Georgia’s 138th, was created from portions of Dooly County and named for Charles F. Crisp, a famous Georgia judge and speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives from 1891 to 1893. Grady County, Georgia’s 139th, was created from portions of Thomas and Decatur counties and named for Atlanta Constitution editor Henry Grady. Jenkins County, Georgia’s 140th, was created from portions of Burke, Emanuel, Bulloch, and Screven counties and named for former governor Charles Jones Jenkins. Tift County, Georgia’s 141st, was created from portions of Berrien, Irwin, and Worth Counties and named for early Albany, Georgia pioneer and congressman Nelson Tift.