Jan January
Feb February
Mar March
Apr April
May May
Jun June
Jul July
Aug August
Sep September
Oct October
Nov November
Dec December

This Day in Georgia History

July 07, 1914

Two New Counties Proposed

Gov. John Slaton signed joint resolutions of the General Assembly proposing constitutional amendments to create two new counties - Barrow and Bacon County. The amendments were necessary because of a constitutional limit of 145 counties, meaning any additional counties had to be authorized through constitutional amendment. On November 3, 1914, Georgia voters approved both amendments. Barrow County, Georgia’s 149th, was created from portions of Gwinnett, Jackson, and Walton counties and named for University of Georgia chancellor David C. Barrow. Bacon County, Georgia’s 151st, was created from portions of Appling, Pierce, and Ware counties and was named for Georgia U.S. Senator Augustus O. Bacon.