Jan January
Feb February
Mar March
Apr April
May May
Jun June
Jul July
Aug August
Sep September
Oct October
Nov November
Dec December

This Day in Georgia History

June 09, 1825

Five Counties Created

Gov. George Troup signed legislation creating what would become Lee, Muscogee, Troup, Coweta, and Carroll counties. The act did not name the counties but rather designated the boundaries of five numbered sections and provided for the survey of each section into land districts and lots. Naming of the counties did not occur until Troup signed an act of Dec. 14, 1826. However, if the date of the 1825 act establishing their boundaries is considered the date of the five counties’ creation, they are respectively Georgia’s 61st - 65th counties. The five counties were created from land ceded by the Treaty of Indian Springs on Feb. 12, 1825 by a group of Creeks led by William McIntosh. McIntosh had signed away all Creek lands in Georgia (except for four reserves) without approval of other Creek factions, an action which led to his assassination. On Jan. 24, 1826, the Creeks signed a new agreement - the Treaty of Washington - in which they again ceded the lands in question but declared void the Treaty of Indian Springs. Lee County, Georgia’s 61st, probably was named for Revolutionary War hero Richard Henry Lee, though it may have been named for Col. Henry “Lighthorse Harry” Lee. Muscogee County, Georgia’s 62nd, was named for the Muscogee (or Creek) Indians that inhabited the area. Troup County, Georgia’s 63rd, was named for Georgia governor George Troup, who signed the legislation creating the five counties. Coweta County, Georgia’s 64th, was named for the Coweta band of the Creek Indians. Carroll County, Georgia’s 65th, was named for Maryland’s Charles Carroll, the last surviving signer of the Declaration of Independence.

Image of Five Counties Created View large image
Source: Original Map Marion R. Hemperly/Edited by Ed Jackson