Jan January
Feb February
Mar March
Apr April
May May
Jun June
Jul July
Aug August
Sep September
Oct October
Nov November
Dec December

This Day in Georgia History

May 21, 1733

Treaty of Savannah Signed

Meeting in Savannah, delegates from each of the eight principal towns of the Lower Creeks signed the Treaty of Savannah officially allowing James Oglethorpe’s colonists to “make use of and possess all those lands which our nation hath not occasion to use … provided always that they, upon settling every new town shall set out for the use of ourselves and the people of our nation such lands as shall be agreed upon between their beloved men and the head men of our nation and that those lands shall remain to us forever.” The treaty did not mention granting title to all lands between the Savannah and Altamaha inland as far as the tide flowed, which is how many historians describe the extent of land ceded by the 1733 treaty. Likely, this was an oral agreement to better define the vague language of the treaty.

Image of Treaty of Savannah Signed View large image
Source: Carl Vinson Institute of Government