Jan January
Feb February
Mar March
Apr April
May May
Jun June
Jul July
Aug August
Sep September
Oct October
Nov November
Dec December

This Day in Georgia History

May 15, 1821

Five Counties Created

Gov. John Clark signed legislation creating Dooly, Houston, Monroe, Fayette, and Henry counties respectively as Georgia’s 48th, 49th, 50th, 51st, and 52nd counties. The five counties were created from land ceded by the Creek Indians in the Treaty of the Indian Spring on Jan. 8, 1821. Dooly County, Georgia’s 48th, was named for Col. John Dooly, a Georgia patriot in the Revolution who was killed by Tories in 1780. Houston County, Georgia’s 49th, was named for former Georgia governor John Houston. Monroe County, Georgia’s 50th, was named for James Monroe, who was then serving as President of the United States. Fayette County was named the Marquis de LaFayette, a hero of the American Revolution. Henry County was named for American patriot Patrick Henry.