Jan January
Feb February
Mar March
Apr April
May May
Jun June
Jul July
Aug August
Sep September
Oct October
Nov November
Dec December

This Day in Georgia History

April 28, 1787

Convention of Beaufort Signed

Commissioners from Georgia and South Carolina signed the Convention of Beaufort, resolving three outstanding boundary conflicts between the two states. One of principal reasons for the treaty was a dispute over whether the Seneca/Keowee River or the Tugaloo River was to be used in determining the headwaters of the Savannah River - which served as the legal boundary between the two states. Both Georgia and South Carolina claimed the land between the two rivers and were issuing land grants in the disputed area. The treaty, however, established the Tugaloo River as the branch of the Savannah to be used in marking the boundary - but allowed Georgia land grants in the disputed area to stand.