Jan January
Feb February
Mar March
Apr April
May May
Jun June
Jul July
Aug August
Sep September
Oct October
Nov November
Dec December

This Day in Georgia History

March 19, 1937

State Department of Public Safety Created

Gov. E.D. Rivers signed an act of the General Assembly creating the state Department of Public Safety. The agency had two divisions (which still exist today) - the Bureau of Investigation (today known as the G.B.I.) and the Georgia State Patrol.