Jan January
Feb February
Mar March
Apr April
May May
Jun June
Jul July
Aug August
Sep September
Oct October
Nov November
Dec December

This Day in Georgia History

February 25, 1784

Washington County Created

Gov. John Houstoun signed legislation setting aside a total of 40,000 acres from a large area ceded by the Creeks in the Treaty of Augusta (May 31, 1783) and by the Cherokees in a duplicate Treaty of Augusta (Nov. 1, 1783). From the 40,000 acres of ceded land, the legislature created two new counties. Washington County Georgia’s 10th, was named for Revolutionary War hero, Gen. George Washington.

Image of Washington County Created View large image
Source: Carl Vinson Institute of Government