Jan January
Feb February
Mar March
Apr April
May May
Jun June
Jul July
Aug August
Sep September
Oct October
Nov November
Dec December

This Day in Georgia History

February 25, 1784

Franklin County Created

Gov. John Houstoun signed legislation setting aside a total of 40,000 acres from a large area ceded by the Creeks in the Treaty of Augusta (May 31, 1783) and by the Cherokees in a duplicate Treaty of Augusta (Nov. 1, 1783). From the 40,000 acres of ceded land, the legislature created two new counties. Franklin County, Georgia’s 9th, was named for Benjamin Franklin.

To view an image of the Franklin County historical marker, see the Digital Library of Georgia.
Image of Franklin County Created View large image
Source: Carl Vinson Institute of Government