Jan January
Feb February
Mar March
Apr April
May May
Jun June
Jul July
Aug August
Sep September
Oct October
Nov November
Dec December

This Day in Georgia History

February 20, 1796

Jefferson County Created

Gov. Jared Irwin signed legislation creating Jefferson County. Jefferson County, Georgia’s 23rd, was created from Burke and Warren counties, was named for former U.S. secretary of state and author of the Declaration of Independence, Thomas Jefferson.

Image of Jefferson County Created View large image
Source: Carl Vinson Institute of Government