Jan January
Feb February
Mar March
Apr April
May May
Jun June
Jul July
Aug August
Sep September
Oct October
Nov November
Dec December

This Day in Georgia History

February 20, 1854

First Child Labor Legislation Signed

Gov. Herschel Johnson signed Georgia’s first child labor legislation. The law limited the working of all white persons under age 21 working in cotton, woolen, and other manufacturing establishments to the hours between sunrise and sunset “with the usual and customary time for meals.” The penalty for violating the law was a fine up to $200 or imprisonment in jail up to 60 days.