This Day in Georgia History
February 20, 1854
First Child Labor Legislation Signed
Gov. Herschel Johnson signed Georgia’s first child labor legislation. The law limited the working of all white persons under age 21 working in cotton, woolen, and other manufacturing establishments to the hours between sunrise and sunset “with the usual and customary time for meals.” The penalty for violating the law was a fine up to $200 or imprisonment in jail up to 60 days.