Jan January
Feb February
Mar March
Apr April
May May
Jun June
Jul July
Aug August
Sep September
Oct October
Nov November
Dec December

This Day in Georgia History

February 04, 1861

Montgomery Convention Convened

Delegates from Georgia, Florida, Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, and South Carolina convened in Montgomery at the Alabama state capitol to form the Confederate States of America. [In Texas, a convention had voted to secede subject to ratification by the citizens in an election scheduled for Feb. 23.] Representing Georgia were Howell Cobb, T.R.R. Cobb, Benjamin Hill, Alexander Stephens, Robert Toombs, Eugenius Nisbet, Francis Bartow, Martin Crawford, Augustus Wright, and Augustus Kenan. Georgia’s Howell Cobb was elected as convention president. Both Howell Cobb and Robert Toombs were considered early favorites to become president of the Confederacy.