Jan January
Feb February
Mar March
Apr April
May May
Jun June
Jul July
Aug August
Sep September
Oct October
Nov November
Dec December

This Day in Georgia History

January 24, 1861

Secssion Convention Elected Delegates to Montgomery Conference

The secession convention then meeting in Milledgeville elected ten delegates to represent Georgia at the southern states’ conference in Alabama on February 4. The delegates were selected according to Georgia’s previous representation in the U.S. Congress. Robert Toombs and Howell Cobb (former Senators) were chosen to represent the state at large. Chosen to represent Georgia’s eight districts were:

1st District: Francis Bartow
2nd District: Martin Crawford
3rd District: Eugenius Nisbet
4th District: Benjamin Hill
5th District: Augustus Wright
6th District: Thomas R.R. Cobb
7th District: Augustus Holmes Kenan
8th District: Alexander Stephens