Jan January
Feb February
Mar March
Apr April
May May
Jun June
Jul July
Aug August
Sep September
Oct October
Nov November
Dec December

This Day in Georgia History

January 15, 1852

Taylor County Created

Gov. Howell Cobb singed an act creating Taylor County as Georgia’s 99th county. Created from portions of Macon, Marion, and Talbot counties, the new county was named in honor of Pres. Zachary Taylor, who died in office in 1850.

Image of Taylor County Created View large image
Source: Carl Vinson Institute of Government