Jan January
Feb February
Mar March
Apr April
May May
Jun June
Jul July
Aug August
Sep September
Oct October
Nov November
Dec December

This Day in Georgia Civil War History

February 04, 1861

Southern States Convention Convened in Montgomery

Delegates from six states - Georgia, Florida, Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, and South Carolina - convened in Montgomery, AL to form the Confederate States of America. Texas had voted in convention to secede, but it had not yet been approved by popular vote. Representing Georgia were:

Howell Cobb and Robert Toombs (both former Senators) and representatives from Georgia’s eight congressional districts:

1st District: Francis Bartow
2nd District: Martin Crawford
3rd District: Eugenius Nisbet
4th District: Benjamin Hill
5th District: Augustus Wright
6th District: T. R.R. Cobb
7th District: Augustus Kenan
8th District: Alexander Stephens