Choose another Topic

Return to Geography Introduction

Return to Physiographic Districts

Cohutta Mountains District

Appalachian Highlands Major Division

Blue Ridge Province

Southern Blue Ridge Section

Cohutta Mountains District

An irregular mass of rugged mountains ranging in elevation from 3000-4000 feet is characteristic of the Cohutta Mountains District. Erosion of metamorphosed sediments of the Ocoee series by the headwater tributaries of southwestward and northward flowing streams has produced valleys 1000-1500 feet below the mountain crests. The southern boundary of this district slopes steeply to the lower elevations of the Cherokee Uplands District. In Georgia the Cohutta Mountains are separated from the main body of the Blue Ridge by the McCaysville Basin and the Jasper Ridges.

Source: William Z. Clark, Jr. and Arnold C. Zisa, Physiographic Map of Georgia (Atlanta: Georgia Department of Natural Resources, 1976).