This Day in Georgia History
August 13, 1910
First Law Regulatiing Automobiles Signed
Gov. Joseph M. Brown signed Georgia’s first law regulating the use of automobiles. Among the provisions, every vehicle had to be registered with the Secretary of State, had to have a license plate bearing the registration number, and had to have at least one headlight capable of projecting a beam 100 feet at least one red taillight illuminating the license plate. The law mandated no specific highway speed limit except to provide that driving speed must be “reasonable and proper.” However, vehicles had to slow to 6 miles per hour when approaching a bridge, sharp curve, or intersection The minimum driving age was set at 16, unless a minor had a year’s experience driving and was accompanied by the owner of the vehicle. And, the law made it illegal to drive while intoxicated.