- Camp Wheeler Historical Marker
- Located on Joe Tamplin Industrial Blvd. about 100
yards south of Riggins Mill Rd., Macon
- CAMP WHEELER
Camp Wheeler was an army training camp
during 1917-19 and 1940-46. It was named for Joseph Wheeler (1836-1906),
Confederate Lt. Gen. who was born in Augusta, Ga.
The tent camp was established in 1917 after
efforts of local businessmen brought Gen. Leonard Wood to Macon
to inspect proposed sites. The 21,480 acre site chosen included
Holly Bluff, the home of Harry Stillwell Edwards and formerly
the plantation of Col. Andrew Jackson Lane, C.S.A., father of
Major General F.J. Kernan became the first
camp commander in August, 1917, and troop strength reached a
high point of 28,960 in July, 1918. A cavalry remount depot was
at nearby Mogul, and a range was at Phillips Station. The camp
closed in April, 1919. The leased site was returned to its owners,
and part later became Herbert Smart Airport.
In 1940 Camp Wheeler was re-opened on 14,394
acres of the original site and was used as a training camp until
December 1943. Colonel A.R. Emery was the first camp commander.
Troop capacity was 25, 890. A 1,000 bed hospital and a prisoner-of-war
camp were included in the new camp. Solders trained during 1941-43
After the war the camp was again dismantled
and the leased land returned to its owners.
011-21 GEORGIA HISTORIC
MACON-BIBB COUNTY INDUSTRIAL AUTHORITY
Note: the text above is transcribed directly from the historical marker itself, but it appears to be in error. People with actual experience at Camp Wheeler assure us that the base was in operation after December of 1943.
Go to Bibb County Historical Markers page
Go to Georgia Historical Markers website